SportsTop Story

CBS Soccer polishes the hardware for the Class of ‘23

By Mark Squibb
October 13, 2023 Edition

The CBS Soccer Association honored the very best of its members at an awards gala held at Queen Elizabth High School last month.

Wyatt Bursey was named the Junior Male Player of the Year. Bursey played for the CBS Kirby Group Strikers Under 13 Premiere Youth League (PYL) team, leading the club in goals this season with 20 markers in just 18 matches. Bursey also represented CBS on the NLSA U13 provincial team.

Rachel Knee was named the Junior Female Player of the Year. Knee played for the CBS Girls U12 Strikers as well as the NLSA Provincial U12 team. As a keeper, Knee was a major factor in her team’s undefeated record of 14 and 0 this season. Knee also scored an impressive six goals in 12 games while playing on the field.

Mitch King was named the Senior Male Player of the Year. King helped lead the S’Pairs Optical Strikers FC to the association’s best Challenge Cup campaign ever and was named an NLSA All Star in the Senior Men’s division and Senior Male Player of the Month for July. 

Autumn Clarke was named the Senior Female Player of the Year. A goalkeeper, Clarke helped lead her Girls U15 Kirby Group Strikers to an undefeated season, allowing only two goals in 15 games. Clarke recently travelled to the United Kingdom with the NLSA and is a newly minted provincial champion who will represent the club at the Nationals in October.

The Team of The Year Award went to the Girls U15 Kirby Group Strikers FC.

The team totalled 15 wins, two ties, and no losses this season, and allowed only nine goals.

The team claimed the title of U15 Provincial Champions and placed fifth at the 2023 National Championships in Ontario.

Erick Mathiasen was named Coach of the Year. Mathiasen coached both the Boys U13 PYL team and the Girls U15 PYL team which earned a place at the national championships.

The Official of the Year Award went to Sam Lane. While new to refereeing, the association’s members say Lane displayed the qualities of a mature official.           

Last but not least, Joy McCarthy, was named Volunteer of the Year. McCarthy is directly involved with a number of teams and helps organize events, contributing to the overall success of the organization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *