SportsTop Story

CBS Girls U13, U15, and S’Pairs Optical CBS Strikers, Kelly’s Pub 35+ team and CBC Minor Softball Association’s U13

The CBS Girls Under 15 Tier 1 PTL team won the provincial championship this past weekend during play at Dianne Whalen Field in Paradise. The Squad will represent Newfoundland at the Nationals in Ontario. The team includes, starting in the front row, from left: Alleigh Fraser, Hailey Snow, Sadie Dawson, Hillary Neville, Adele Martin, Rachael Furey, Ava Bishop, Peyton Long; Back Row Coach Jordan Osmond, Riley Smith, Julie Beresford, Ava Turpin, Bridget McCrate, Autumn Clarke, Emly-Joe Bartlett, Abbey Janes, Lauren Snow, Rachel Slaney, Millie Janes, Sarah Power, Coach Erick Mathiasen. Missing from photo is Ayden Rowsell.
This year’s S’Pairs Optical CBS Strikers Challenge Cup team consisted of, starting in the back row, from left: Steve Grandy (Assistant Coach) Ryan Thistle, Josh Peddle, Kaegen Carroll, Ben Whelan, Ranaldo Morris, Daniel Quinn, Ethan Haywood, Dan Agbesse, Erick Mathisen, Ryan Caines (Head Coach); Front Row L-R: Ryan Earles,  Ben Moret Rideout, Dan Hanlon, Darcy Bennett, Ryan Day, Kyle Ryan, Martin Gordillo, Andrew Cox. Missing: Mitchell King, Chris Coady (Trainer), Tracey Carroll (Manager).
The CBS Under 13 Tier 2 metro team captured silver at the Provincials held in Corner Brook. The team members include, starting in the top from left: Deanne Bishop, Lacey Vincent, Abigail Neville, Jeff Bishop, Charlotte Bishop, Layla McCarthy, Charlie Corbett, Claire Bishop; Second row; Katelyn Rideout, Rachael Downey, Isla Tucker, Katie Parsons, Erica Bussey, Teigan Hefford, Bruce Coates; and in the front row, from left: Bella Radcliffe, Rebecca Downey.
CBS BOYS CLAW THEIR WAY TO 35+ NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP—The Kelly’s Pub 35+ team won the 35+D Nationals on August 7 in Moncton, NB. After going 3-1 in the round robin, they ended up in the double life bracket. In the first double life game they lost to a team from Ontario called the Army of Darkness and had to take the long road to the final. While facing elimination they put out The Rhinos from New Brunswick first, then the Halifax Royals, the Army of Darkness in a rematch, before twice defeating the 2022 Men’s 35+E national champions SPC Dugout Boys from Ontario to earn the title. Kelly’s Pub took the first game 16-12 and came back the old-fashioned way in the 7th inning of game two, down 4 runs they put up 11 to win the game 19-12. The members of the winning team, all from Conception Bay South, include, starting in the back row from left: Justin Taylor, tournament MVP John Farrell, Robert Caines, Tyler McDonald, Bruce Butler, Adam Murphy, Travis Rideout, and Mark O’Brien; and in the front row, from left: Mike Gregory, Mark Smith, Claude Locke, and Dale Hillier. “Thanks to the fans at the games and those who showed their support from home,” said spokesman Mark O’Brien.
The Conception Bay Center (CBC) Minor Softball Association’s Under 13 Girls Fastpitch Softball Team have had an amazing season of softball. The team of 12 girls and four coaches are from the communities of Holyrood, Harbour Main-Chapel’s Cove-Lakeview, Avondale, Conception Harbour, and Colliers. They started off the summer by capturing the title for their division at the 2023 William Moss Memorial Tournament in early July. Later that month they travelled to Gander to take the title at the 2023 Provincial Slo-Pitch Tournament. Finally, this past weekend in Bay Roberts, they earned themselves another distinction with the title of the 2023 Provincial Fastpitch Champions. In all three tournaments the CBC team went undefeated. Later this month the team will travel to Prince Edward Island where they will represent Newfoundland and Labrador at the Eastern Canadian Softball Championships. In the back row, from left to right, are assistant coach George Gushue, Coach Patrick Gorman, Cierra Mason, Makenzie Flynn, Katie Lewis, Dakota Gorman, Sarah Clouston, Claire Strapp, assistant coach Keith Kelly, and assistant coach PJ Strapp. In the front row, from left to right, are Sophie Lewis, Abby Kelly, Jaylen Penney, Brooklyn Rose, Paige Gushue and Aliya Dalton. Photo submitted by Lori Anne Clouston.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *