SportsTop Story

CBS Softball Leagues

The CBS Men’s Softball League recently held its annual Mid Year Tournament and the Meigle Lounge came out victorious. Facing an undefeated Parsons team in the finals, the Meigle scored 6 in the top of the 1st and never relinquished the lead enroute to a 24-15 victory. The league donates $1,000 to a local charity as part of the tournament each year with the winning team getting to choose the charity. This year the league will be donating to Sammy’s Climb Higher Foundation. The members of the winning squad include, starting in the front row, from left: Daniel Noftle, Sam Morgan, Derrick Kent, Adam Gear, Paul Jefford, Steven White; and in the back, from left: Tommy Nugent, Chris Davis, Jordan Howard, Billy Taggart, Jeremy McCarthy, Randy Scott, and Chris St. Croix.
The members of Parsons and Sons, who were 5 and 0 heading into the finals, include, starting in the front row, from left: Glenn Kennedy, Nick Martin, Ronald Morgan, Mark Smith; and in the back row, from left: Tyrone MacDonald, Mike Gregory, Steve Sutton, Travis Rideout, Adam Murphy, Claude Locke, and Mike O’Brien.
The Molson/Coors CBS Masters Softball League hosted its mid-season Memorial Tournament last weekend. The weather was fantastic, and all involved had a very exciting weekend of softball. The championship game featured Triware/Newlander Meat Shop defeating Stafford’s Welding by a score of 14-13. This was Stafford’s Welding’s second consecutive finals appearance; they defeated Prime Drilling to win the opening tournament back in May. The members of the championship Triware/Newlander Meats team included, starting in the back row, from left: Phil Stapleton, Peter Taite, Billy Hayden, Bob Richards, Rob Hanrahan, Steve Canning (sponsor), Curtis Pike, Randy Bouzane, Justin Williams; and in the front, from left: Shawn Samson, Paul Forristall, Gerald Smith, and Tony Goobie.
The Stafford’s Welding squad included, from left, players Mike White, Brendan Broders, Chad Day, Terry Jordan, John Tobin, Greg Skinner, Paul Nugent, Carl Stafford (sponsor), Darrell Jordan, Eric Hart, and Steve Smith. Missing from the photo is Scott Andrews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *