Pioneers celebrate 2022 class of athletes and scholars

Queen Elizabeth Regional High School student athletes were in the limelight last Wednesday as staff hosted the school’s annual QE Athlete Night 2022.

Staff handed out dozens of awards to deserving students across several different categories.

Eleven students received the Scholar Athlete Award. To be eligible, students must participate in three school sports and maintain an average above 85. Winners include Carly Hogarth, Marcienne Theriault, Molly Gill, Ashley Rideout, Kyra Benson, Jordan Lynch, Kelsey Janes, Lauren Rowe, Drew Sheppard, Andrew Martin and Ryan Young.

Grade 12 student Lauren Rowe was gifted a special pin for being recognized as Scholar Athlete three years in a row.

Molly Gill and Andrew Martin received the Female and Male Sportsmanship Award respectively. The award recognizes those who demonstrate exemplary sportsmanship qualities and instill great sportsmanship values in others.

Lauren Rowe was awarded the title of 2022 Female Athlete of the Year. Rowe is a member of the ultimate frisbee team, basketball team, girls volleyball team, soccer team, softball team, cross country team, and girls ice hockey team.

Male Athlete of the Year was awarded to Drew Sheppard, a member of the boys softball team, golf team, ultimate frisbee team, boys ball hockey team and boys ice hockey team.

Teacher Stephanie Walsh received the Regional Recognition Award.

The award is presented to an individual, be it coach, convenor, official, or administrator, from each of the School Sports Newfoundland and Labrador’s 11 regions who contributes greatly to school sports.

Members of the school’s many sports teams were also recognized.

On the boys softball team, Matthew Reeves received the Matthew Fagan Sportsmanship Award, Luke Pomeroy received the Geoffrey Carter Award for Most Gentlemanly & Effective, while Kyle Slade was named MVP. For the girls, Mary Ann Greeley received the Matthew Fagan Sportsmanship Award, and Hope Bishop-Frizzell was named MVP.

Lauren Rowe was named cross country running MVP.

For Girls Volleyball, of which there are three teams, Most Improved went to Jayde Locke, Laura Stroud, Mackenzie Kennedy, and Terri Lynn Baird. Molly Gill, Hope Bishop-Frizzell, and Kayley Reid were named Most Spirited. Tyra Cable, Emma Tilley, Lauren and Ashley Rideout, and Madison Dunn were named Team MVPs.

For boys soccer, Andrew Martin was named Rookie of the Year, Daniel Powell Most Spirited, John Gilbert Most Sportsmanlike, and Alex Fagan MVP. For the girls team, Katie Roul was named Rookie of the Year, Hannah Rideout Most Dedicated, Madison Dunn Most Improved, and Lauren Rowe MVP.

For the girls indoor soccer team, Grace Nolan was named Most Sportsmanlike and Chelsea Tibbo was named MVP.

On the boys basketball team, Kyle Clake was named Rookie of the Year, Jordan Lynch Most Sportsmanlike, Tanner Hoyles Most Improved, John Gilbert Most Dedicated, and Cole Clarke MVP.

For girls basketball, Maria Rodriguez was named Rookie of the Year, Lauren Pike Most Spirited, Molly Gill Most Improved, and Chantelle Dawe and Charlotte Dawe were named co-MVPs.

Members of the Ultimate Frisbee team were also recognized. Jordan Lynch and Molly Gill were named Most Spirited Male and Female Athlete respectively, while Alex Fagan and Marcienne Thériault were named Male and Female MVP respectively.

On the girls ball hockey team, Anna Halley was named Rookie of the Year, Leigha Coates Most Sportsmanlike, Molly Gill Most Dedicated, and Tyra Cable MVP. On the boys ball hockey team, Ethan Gilbert was named Rookie of the Year, Andrew Martin Most Sportsmanlike, Andrew Penney Most Dedicated, and Christian Cole MVP.

On the cheerleading squad, Grace Leiva was named Most Improved, Emily Reid Most Dedicated, Maddie Butler Most Spirted, Mackenzie Gushue and Brooke Vincent as co-MVPs.

For the boys rugby team, Jack Dawe was named Most Improved, Warren Butler Most Dedicated, and Alex Fagan MVP. On the girls team, Jenny Reeves was named Most Improved, Amber Crocker Most Dedicated, and Lauren Pike MVP.

MVPs for the badminton team were Andrew Martin and Marcienne Theriault, while the MVP for the golf team was Drew Sheppard.

For baseball, Jordan Lynch was named Most Spirited, and Kyle Slade was named MVP.

For girls hockey, Maggie Bussey was named Rookie of the Year, Madi Dunn Most Improved, Mackenzie Dawe Most Improved, and Molly Gill MVP.

On the boys team,  Morgan Porter was named the Top Scorer, Christian Cole was awarded the Darryl Reid Memorial Trophy for Most Spirited, Mitchell Parsons was named Most Improved, Morgan Porter was awarded Geoffrey Carter Award for Most Gentlemanly and Effective, Drew Sheppard was awarded the Stephen Windsor Memorial Trophy for Determination and Dedication, Sam Budden was awarded the Reg Coates Memorial Most Defensive Player, Ethan Gilbert was named the Rookie of the Year, and Cole Gosse was awarded the Dave Burry/Lloyd Johnson Award for MVP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *